Feeling Existential

Standard

I don’t know what it is, but my rapidly approaching graduation date is making me question my purpose in the universe.

Yes, I’ll have a bachelor of arts degree in creative writing. Whoopee. Then what?

For some reason I find myself questioning all previous plans and wondering if maybe I should just work for a year. Or study something else in grad school. Or not go to grad school–scratch that, I’m a creative writing major and therefore unemployable, so grad school it is. But where? And in what?

And how?

In short, I don’t know what I’m doing with my life, and I’m kind of excited to find out whatever that might be…because I’m bound to find out eventually if I search diligently.

For now, I’ll just look at myself in the mirror every morning and wonder what on earth I am to become.

The best laid plans of mice and men oft go awry.

I should probably go to bed.

About Miss Risabella Rambler

Risabella Rambler is somehow a graduate student working towards a MA in English at Undisclosed University. She is a book barista at the university library and gets paid for having a blast. She hopes to publish something. Someday. Somehow.

One response »

  1. Miss Rambler, you are a writer. Earning a degree in creative writing means you’ve given yourself an immense gift of time and attention to develop and hone this unique gift, and this blog is proof of your generosity and soulful openness as you share what you create with the world. And if you still work in a library at U.U., you know you’ve got lots of like-minded friends dancing between the lines and bindings of every book therein.

    Imagine giving yourself permission to be just as creative with your life as you are with writing. If life feels like a blank page right now, and you’re experiencing something like writer’s block around what comes next, maybe you can try a hand at writing your life. For sure, you are approaching the end of a very important chapter. The next chapter might not be written yet, and you might even need to take a break from the story before it calls out to you with clearer signals about what wants to happen next.

    Not knowing is a pre-requisite for all creation.

    I hope you slept well, and that sleep took you straight through the darkest hour before the dawn.

    Trust yourself: Even when you think you don’t know what to do, you do. Look up the word Telos, smile, and Ramble On!

Ramble back at me...

