‘Tis the Season to be Flabby

Standard

Autumn through winter has got to be the worst time period for anybody trying to maintain a healthy weight. In October there’s Halloween candy, followed by the pumpkin pie and pumpkin everything else in November. Then there’s December, and the Christmas excuses start to roll in.

“It’s exam week. The stress will burn off the calories from this homemade chocolate chip cookie.”

“C’mon, how fattening can a candy cane be? It’s just solidified peppermint. Right?”

“It’s cold outside. Hot chocolate is a necessity. Besides, it doesn’t count because it’s a liquid.”

“Oh, what’s one more handful of white-chocolate covered Chex Mix? Chex Mix is healthy. Yeah.”

“This is dark chocolate. Dark chocolate has healthy antioxidants that help maintain heart and brain health. I need to eat this.”

“My grandmother made these. She’ll ask if I liked them. I need to eat them to avoid a family feud.”

If you’re laughing, it’s because you know exactly what I’m talking about.

There’s something about this wonderful time of year that makes everyone feel especially generous. This generosity usually manifests itself in the form of food. I’m not talking goody bags of veggies and ranch dressing, either. I’m talking bagfuls of cookies, pretzels, chocolate-covered this and that, hot cocoa packets, homemade delights that make your mouth water.

 And then you tell yourself, “Hey, Christmas comes but once a year. Why not?” With those two magic words, the whole “everything in moderation” concept goes flitting out the window.

It’s only when your jeans don’t sit where they used to do you realize that perhaps applying the You Only Live Once mentality to Christmas food was a bad idea.

‘Tis the season to be flabby

Fa la la la la, la la la la

Like a massive ginger tabby

Fa la la la la, la la la la

Cookies, truffles, Candy ca-anes

Fa la la, la la la, la la la

Lead to all our winter ga-ains,

Fa la la la la, la la la la.

9 responses »

  1. Ugh this year I’m trying to pretend there are no holidays. Tonight I am at home avoiding a holiday party in hopes that by New Years I can fit into my favorite holiday dress. I’m lucky I don’t have a sweet tooth but boy I can gain on some champagne….

    Good luck!

  2. i avoid this conflict by treating the holidays as my only “diet” days. it’s worked….mostly…..only a two pound gain this year.

Ramble back at me...

