Winter’s Nap

Standard

The day I’ve been waiting for since the beginning of the semester has arrived:

The end of it.

There are some of you out there who will read those first two sentences may think, “Wow, this chick is a cynic.” That may or may not be true. Regardless, I would like to inform my readers that I haven’t been looking forward to the end of the semester because it’s been a terrible semester. Oh, no. Quite the reverse. This semester has been phenomenal. On a scale of one to ten, I would give it a fifteen.

However, all good things must come to an end. And this semester has been one of the best things I’ve been happy to see come to its conclusion.

Every class required substantial amounts of writing. I’m amazed I haven’t worn the fingerprints off of my fingers from all of the typing I’ve done. I am equally amazed that I still have a voice after all of the speech performances. I can’t believe I still have a brain after letting it run at one hundred miles an hour for the past three months.

Three long, short months.

Time is not linear. It stretches and squashes depending on how much we have on our minds, how busy we are or are not, and how much fun we’re having. For example, the time before a frightening deadline zips by like a German express train. The remaining days before a long-awaited Christmas break? They drag on and on and on.

But if one thing about time is consistent, it is its inability to stop completely. Whatever event we are hoping will delay or arrive sooner, we can all be assured that it will get come. Eventually.

All that remains is for us to use the time we have, no matter how slowly or quickly it passes, to the best advantage.

That said, I readily admit that at this moment, sleeping is to my best advantage. And sleeping is how I intend to spend the next twelve hours. After a long semester, I think I have earned myself a long winter’s nap.

8 responses »

  1. I can relate to your excitement as the semester comes to an end. I’ve had a great semester too 🙂 but I’m glad for a break, and I’m glad to be finishing well. Congrats on being finished 🙂

  2. How, hi are you? I am very interested in your article and would like to learn more on this subject. I am a real person. I am not a bot person or a spam person. Your blog has much useful information stuff to learn about things.

Ramble back at me...

