Who Woulda Thunk It?

Standard

Something rather unextraordinarily extraordinary happened today.

(I’ll give you second to try and figure out how to say that first sentence out loud, as desired.)

(Got it?)

(Okay, great.)

I awoke at 5:55 this morning. This awakedness continued through two hours of work, three hours of class, an hour of acting class rehearsal, another hour of work, a panel discussion, a speech recital, and fifteen minutes of running.

(Somewhere in there I ate something. At least I think I did—my stomach disagrees, but that is probably because I am denying it its usual snackings. It doesn’t need what it thinks it needs.)

By that time, it was 9:00 pm, and I was amazed at my lack of tiredness.

I remember my freshman year when I had at least one day like this every week. There would inevitably be one day when I would have to get up at the crack of dawn and have no reprieve until late, late at night. I am now a wiser bird, and I now know how to arrange my schedule so such madness does not happen and my poor friends have to keep track of what days I will be an emotional basket case.

However, at the end of today, I realized that I was not, in fact, an emotional basket case. I feel okay. Tomorrow will be crazy busy, but it will be okay.

Huh. So God gives strength when you need it, after all.

And it took me 20 years to figure that out?

2 responses »

  1. God is amazing in giving just enough strength for each day. I’m still learning too. Haven’t arrived yet! 🙂 So glad we are learning some of the same things.

Ramble back at me...

