A Dream is a Wish

Standard

I know, I know, I’ve got a “dream” theme going on lately. Forgive me, but I’ve been doing a bit of daydreaming recently, and meditations on a theme tend to come out in writing.

It’s the point in the semester where you kind of want to be done and kind of don’t want to be either. You wish you had no more academics to worry about, but you also want to spend time with your friends, enjoying being young twenty-somethings. Right now, what with a campus-wide competition (I’ve been wearing a lot of green lately, and other students have been wearing a lot of red; team colors and all that) and a week-long break from classes coming up, there’s going to be a lot less academics and a lot more fun-having in our near future.

But on Sundays, I go home. I go to my home church. I sit on the couch, feeling at home but not quite at home. My wish for the moment it to be home, wearing a t-shirt and jeans, my hair pulled into a haphazard ponytail, paints in hand, making art with music blaring from my little boombox.

That day will come. I’ll blink, and summer will be here. For now, I’ll enjoy now. There’s a lot of “now” to be enjoying.

Image

One response »

  1. Thank you. It’s nice to know that other people feel the same somewhat nondescript way I do at times. Home, yet not home. Want to be in school, yet don’t. Ah, such is life. 🙂 It’s something to enjoy!

Ramble back at me...

