To Read

Standard

For the student-geek, summer means books.

This may seem a little counterintuitive. After all, school means books. Truckloads of books. Books on psychology and philosophy and science and literature. We read and/or skim them from cover to cover, semester in and semester out.

That’s the point.

Summer means we get to read what we want to read.

Novel concept.

Pun so intended.

For me, this means the first book in the new Lemony Snicket series, which I received for my birthday. This means Beauty, a retelling of “the Beauty and the Beast” by the brilliant Robin McKinley. This means C.S. Lewis and Ray Bradbury. This means both Brontes. This means Victor Hugo.

This means basking in the brilliance of the writer who have come before me and left their mark on the world. This means reading, taking notes, and learning from their examples.

I’m so excited I can’t stand myself. 

3 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness, all of those books/authors are on my summer list as well!!! SO EXCITED!! My absolute FAVORITE book is Robin McKinley’s Beauty, a retelling of “the Beauty and the Beast.” I read it at LEAST once every break from school … and Bible Conference week. 😉 I’m saving Victor Hugo for the plane ride to Peru next month. 😀

Ramble back at me...

