Voices

Standard

“Alrighty, then. What to write tonight…”

Write about fireflies.

“What?”

You know. Fireflies. The little sparkly bug things. There’s a song about them. How did it go again?

“Yeah, right. What about fireflies? That gives me no substance—it’ll just be another short fluff post.”

Fine. Write about An Affair to Remember. You just got done watching it—it’s fresh on your brain. Go for it.

“I guess so, but again, what would I say? I could write a review of the thing, I suppose, but what good would that do anyone? I’d probably come across a little cynical. You know I don’t handle the mushy stuff very well.”

Hey, not my problem.

“Excuse me, but you are my problem.”

Touché.

“I could do another Flight of Fiction.

Hmm. I guess. What part could you write that won’t give away the you-know-what about you-know-who going you-know-where?  

“Not sure. There’s the beginning of the party—I didn’t go over that last time.”

Not feeling a crowd scene tonight. How about the prologue?

“I still don’t know what to do for the prologue. The slave market scene, I guess, but I’m not sure if I’m still going that route or not.”

Just write about Ameryn and the rest of them as kids. Enilor as a kid is hilarious.

“Like I said, I still don’t know how I want that part of the plot to work out. After I threw in the villain’s dad, things got complicated.”

You’re no fun tonight. Every suggestion I give you, you toss. What do you want me to do? I’m not one of the Muses, I’m just the other part of your psyche.

“About that…”

Yeah?

“You really need to be quiet when I’m talking to people.”

What did I do now?

“You just won’t shut up while I’m trying to carry on a conversation. I’m trying to listen to them, but you start babbling and then I’m sunk. I lose focus trying to listen to both of you at once. It’s annoying. People are starting to think I’m a few chili peppers short of a zippy salsa, if you know what I’m saying.”

I always know what you’re saying.

“Right. Still, I need to focus while I’m talking to people, and especially when they’re talking to me. Which means that you need to sit down and shut up while I’m being sociable. Got it?”

Oui, mon Capitan.

“I’ll ignore the sarcasm in your voice and say ‘thank you.”’

My pleasure.

“Now, about this post…”

Hey, Riz?

“Yeah.”

Ever get the feeling you were being…watched?

“What are you talking about?”

You’ve been typing out this whole conversation.

“….well would you look at that….”

Now they know, I guess.

“I guess. But, hey, it’s not like they don’t talk to themselves, too.”

You keep thinking that, if it makes you feel better. If they didn’t think you were nuts before, they sure do now.

“Oh well. Honesty is the best policy, I suppose.”

I suppose. Are we done here? We’ve got a book to finish reading.

“I guess we are. Good night.”

I’m still here, doofus.

“Oh, right.”

2 responses »

  1. Absolutely delightful post! I read it on my phone, while in a tuk tuk taxi in the heat and dust of Phnom Penh…and it made me smile! Well, actually, made me smile and chuckle a bit! I am part of a family full of “talk to selfers”, so this helps me understand them just a little bit more! 🙂

Ramble back at me...

