Nine

Standard

Celebrate

The past two years have opened my eyes to an obvious, but underappreciated fact: life is beautiful. This is a fact I and many other human beings take for granted. But yes, life is lovely, and life is worth celebrating.

Not just birthdays and Christmas and New Year’s, though. Those are very special days, and they are most certainly worth celebrating. But if you think about it, the fact that I wake up in the morning and I am still breathing and my heart is still beating is a miracle. The fact that I am still alive is, in my estimation, a cause for celebrating.

Now, I’m not saying that all I do is party all day and all night. Hardly. Daytime is for working and nighttime is for sleeping—or working some more as the case may be. But there is no law that states a celebration must be a huge, bombastic affair. For example, every morning I quietly celebrate the fact I’m still alive by drinking a cup (or three) of coffee. There, you see? No ceremony, no pomp or circumstance. Just coffee.

Every day of the year has some official holiday attached to it. Last Saturday was “National Celebrate Your Inner Geek Day,” so my family watched Doctor Who. (I always let my geek flag fly, so this was not exactly a deviation from the norm.) Today was “National Peach Ice Cream Day,” so mother brought home a half-gallon of very delicious peach ice cream. Groundhog Day we celebrate with fattening food and the annual viewing of Groundhog Day.

Then there are personal holidays. I celebrate every Friday (at least during the school year) by having coffee with a friend and dinner with two of my adopted sisters. I celebrate rainy days by whistling very loudly. The first day of autumn is the day I will break out whatever happens to be my favorite sweater that year and my acorn necklace. April 25th is my personal Independence Day, and I celebrate it by eating chocolate or going out to eat with my best friend—or both. October 4th is the day I wear purple (one of many, anyway). December 20th is the anniversary of my accepting Christ as my Savior, which I celebrate with a thankful prayer. I celebrate the last day of exams every semester with very loud music (usually Celtic, but I’m branching out more every year) and very uncoordinated dancing. I try to celebrate the days that are hard to celebrate, such as Mondays, or the day of a first test in an unfathomable class. Admittedly, those are a bit of a challenge, and usually I just devolve into fits of isolationism and/or weeping. It’s a work-in-attitude-progress.

Life is short. Over the past two years, I’ve really noticed that if you don’t enjoy every day as it goes by, life feels even shorter. The journey, for me, is much more fascinating than the destination. Every day is a gift worth being thankful for. “This is the day the Lord hath made; rejoice and be glad in it.”

5 responses »

  1. I told you my theory that we should be nice to each other and put up colored lights and give presents and dress in festive sweaters and have a pretty tree up for 11 months out of the year, and then just be jerks for one month… maybe in December… to blow off a little steam, right?

Ramble back at me...

