This is the Day

Standard

What day is it, exactly?

I’m not the only one asking this question. Other students are, as well. As more and more of us stay up later and later into the night (and earlier into the dawn), the lines between days are blurring.

Is it Monday or Tuesday? Or Wednesday?

The most important question, some may argue, is why isn’t it Friday?

Time slips through our fingers. I didn’t think I’d be able to survive today when I woke up at 5:30 this morning, but I did. I blinked, and this very difficult day was over. What did I accomplish? Better yet, what did I accomplish that will last for eternity?

Did I build someone else up?

Did I control my rising frustration with life and/or the medical system?

Did I remember to pray for someone else, instead of just my own needs?

Did I tell God “thank you” at least once?

Did I make people a priority over my schedule?

Did I let go of my prejudices today, and see the people I had hidden behind them?

Did I choose to be joyful?

The days are blurring by. None of us really knows what day it is. Nor can we tell the significance of a day until it’s over.

This is the day the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it. I’ve been given that gift. And every day is a chance to give back. 

4 responses »

Ramble back at me...

