Paper Writing

Standard

I need something explained to me.

I need to know why writing things like poems and blog posts and bursts of fiction is so easy, while writing a paper for class is like wringing water from a rock?

I blocked off hours to write a paper today. Hours. I came up with a thesis, a simple outline, and one, count it, one well-structured and cited paragraph. How long did this take me? Three hours.

How long does it take me to write a Flight of Fiction? One hour. A poem? Thirty minutes. The average blog post? Fifteen minutes.

Is it the fact that I’m writing for a grade? Is it my concern for quality that makes me worry over every comma and conjunction? Is it my inability to focus on the argument when I get distracted by the individual sentence structures? Is it my slowness to process the information in the textbook to turn phrases into quotes and citations? Is it my lack of familiarity with the material?

Is it because I’m lazy? Is it because, deep down, I really want to be doing anything but writing a paper at that moment?

It takes me forever to work up steam when I’m writing anything related to literary analysis. I can analyze life in second—literature, however, takes hours. And trying to analyze the World’s Longest Letter (aka Juana Inez’s Reply to Sor Filotea De La Cruz) and all its intricacies and allusions takes a really, really long time. Time I don’t really have to give.

There’s a metaphor for life in there somewhere, but my brain’s too tired and too full of biblical allusions at the moment to think about anything else.

Here’s hoping for a tomorrow choc full of inspiration. If this paper doesn’t get done tomorrow, it doesn’t get done at all. 

4 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness, I was thinking the exact same thing today!! I literally blocked out 1-4pm today to write our stinkin’ paper and barely got the rough rough rough draft completed …..

Ramble back at me...

