Blue Christmas

Standard

And after a long day of riding in the car and listening to Christmas music, we have rambled home.

The house is still decorated from floor to rafters. But the space beneath the tree is empty, and all the unwrapped presents are sill on the couch. All the songs we listened to on the way home talked about Christmas in anticipation of its arrival, but now we have to wait another eleven months before we’ll be back in the most wonderful time of the year.

I get post-Christmas depression. I get it every single year. Sometimes it’s really bad, sometimes it’s just a little pang. I’m not sure how it will be this year. So far I just feel a little glum. I watched a Christmas movie and now I feel a little better.

Tomorrow, or perhaps the day after, we’ll take down all the decorations. The tree will retreat to the back yard to become a bird condo. All the Christmas presents will be put away. Splashes of red and green will fade away for the year, stuffed into boxes…but not to be banished forever.

After all, Christmas will always come back. December 25th won’t stop coming for a long while yet. There will be other Christmases with even more memories to be made. More wishes granted. More photos taken. More singing. More hope. More joy.

Eh, who am I kidding? Christmas is never over. Not for me.

One response »

Ramble back at me...

