Listening

Standard

Maybe it’s because I’m a writer. Maybe it’s because I’m an introvert. But I spend a lot of time listening to people. 

This isn’t a problem. I get to help people–mostly women, which admittedly is my comfort zone. 

I have this shirt. It’s orange and comfy. Almost every time I’ve worn this shirt, I have had to console a weeping woman. I now call it “the crying shirt.” 

A surprising number of girls have cried on it. 

People struggle. People struggle more than they’re willing to let on. I have seen strong women, seemingly unshakable women, break down in tears in front of me, overburdened with all the cares they carry. 

My friends, people around you are hurting. They hide behind smiles and laughter, but these people are in need of nothing more than one person to listen to everything that’s weighing them down. 

Be willing to listen. 

One response »

  1. It is so true. It is so easy to just about our business here at school … roaming the halls, but missing so many opportunities to minister. I have to consciously tell myself to slow down, stop, and listen.

Ramble back at me...

