Spring Sprang

Standard

The dawn rose cleaner this morning.

The bird washed their faces in the morning light

And sang hello to a new day,

And the daffodils trumpeted a silent salutation to the sun.

 

What a day for spring.

The breeze decided I should wear my hair differently

And the blossoms liked the arrangement so well

They stuck to it for a moment

Before flitting on.

 

What a day for spring.

 

There were roses in my hands and in my head,

So much the fountain laughed at me,

Chuckling to itself, slapping hands with the sky,

Shooting off sparks.

 

What a day for spring.

 

And when the sun got tired of tumbling,

He settled himself in a rocking chair,

Kicking his yellow feet in the grass and glowing it

While it hummed to itself.

 

And I thought, thought I,

What a day for spring.

 

3 responses »

Ramble back at me...

