Gratitude Post: Birthday Eve

Standard

Here I am. The last night of being 21.

It was a very good year.

God has blessed me in more ways than my brain can fathom.

I have loving parents. I have the best friends a girl could ask for. I have the world’s greatest best friend. I have a roof over my head and food in my stomach. I have a great family, and we all like each other (which I’m learning is a rare occurrence in extended families). I have a church that is as much my family as the people related by blood.

I have dozens of colorful scarves and a closet full of pretty clothes. I have three adorable cats. I have shoes.

I even have tickets to a Broadway show and a tambourine shaped like a crescent moon.

I’ve got it made. God spoils me, and I have no idea why. When have I ever done anything for Him that entitled me to any of this special treatment?

That’s just it. I didn’t. Not at all. I’m not a great person. I’m not even a very good one. I say mean things sometimes. I get angry. I get frustrated. I worry. I’m lazy. I deserve nothing. 

Yet He’s given me everything I could possibly want.

So I’d like to give credit where credit is due. God has given me everything I will ever need, and has withheld the things He knows would be bad for me.

I have no reason to complain about anything. Ever.

May I read this again one day, and remember to always be grateful.

 

One response »

  1. Happy Birthday to you, Miss Rambler! We love you and hope you have nothing but joy on this special day. Love, hugs and best wishes to you.

    “Auntie” G and Uncle D; HJ&K and the wee one to be; M&A and the 2 E’s.

Ramble back at me...

