What Happens When Your Brain is an Mp3 Player

Standard

My brain plays me music. Usually only when I want it to, but sometimes when I don’t. For me, it’s never a case of one song at a time. It’s always a plethora. Here’s the cacophony blaring inside my head at the moment:

“Poor. All my life I’ve always been poor…”

“…when everything else turns to grey.”

“The servant girl, she replied to the lord…”

“I’m through accepting limits ’cause someone says they’re so…”

“SUDDENLY SEYMOUR IS STANDING BESIDE YOU…”

“Say what you wanna say, and let the words fall out…”

“I’m on the (taaaaaaah) top of the world lookin’ (dooooooow) down on creation…”

“Dragons live forever, but not so little boys…”

“Someday, somewhere, we’ll find a new way of living…”

“I’ll come rollin’ home, when my rovin’ days are done…”

“I DON’T CARE WHAT THEY’RE GOING TO SAY…”

“And you throw your head back laughing like a (breath) little kid.”

“….the lovers, the dreamers, and me.”

(Comment below with the titles of the above mentioned songs for brownie points.)

12 responses »

  1. Oh, so many of these I recognize but can’t quite place. I see “Defying Gravity,” “Brave” (Sara Bareilles), “Someday” from West Side Story, and the “Rainbow Connection.” 🙂

  2. There are a couple of songs by the Carpenters (my generation – Ha!); “Puff the Magic Dragon” (again, my generation … by Peter, Paul, and Mary); “West Side Story” (my generation yet again!); and one or two from “Frozen” … just watched this again yesterday with your cousin Kody. Great play list! I thought there would be at least one or two from “Cats” …

Ramble back at me...

