Feeling Small

Standard

Maybe I shouldn’t read the news.

Maybe I shouldn’t try to imagine the future at all.

When I was small and growing bigger, I noticed how the world that used to seem so big appeared to shrink from the fairy land I thought it was into a tiny neighborhood with petty neighborhood fights.

Now that I’m big, though, I feel like I’m getting smaller in the scheme of things, and that the world is growing larger, like a malicious carnivorous plant about to swallow me whole. There are so many things to worry about. Things inside me. Things inside my little world here at Undisclosed University. Things outside it are even worse.

When I feel like this (which is more often than my pride wants me to admit), I look up at the stars. Scripture isn’t what comes first to mind, although I know it should. I remember some simple words from one of my favorite fictional heroes: “There’s light and beauty up there that no shadow can touch.”

Then I remember that it is God who made the stars sing (Job 38:7), and that the heavens declare His glory (Psalm 19:1). God is not indifferent. I can’t imagine Him so, not from the way He talks in the Bible. He counts my tears and puts them in a bottle (Psalm 56:8). He will not give me more than I can bear with Him beside me (1 Corinthians 10:13). And He doesn’t just guard my feeble footsteps, but the footsteps of all of His children.

I am small. But He is big, and He will watch over me.

Ramble back at me...

