Scary

Standard

Normal people probably spent tonight in costume, party hopping. They will probably get home sometime early tomorrow and sleep for the rest of the day, quite possibly still in costume.

I am not normal people. I spent most of the evening on the interstate, on my way to visit a friend. Once I got there, I stayed a while, then drove back.

I was not keen on the idea of driving late at night on the interstate on Halloween. There be crazy people. Everywhere. And it was dark. And the best music to keep one awake on the highway is The Phantom of the Opera, which has a lot of loud and potentially frightening organ solos.

I lived to tell the tale, of course (or else, this is a ghost writer), But I’ve read enough scary stories about creepy things happening to people on haunted highways that my imagination might have gotten a little caught up in the drive and the music and the long, long stretch of dark, dark road.

On Halloween.

I’m not the superstitious sort. I’ve owned two black cats at once, and I don’t flinch when i spill salt or open an umbrella indoors. But a long drive at night, on a night like tonight, gives me a little boost of….vigilance.

Yeah. Vigilance.

Ramble back at me...

