But I’m Doing My Best

Standard

I need a white t-shirt that comes with a black washable-ink marker. In big letters on the front of the t-shirt, there will be the words:

“I’m sorry____________, but I’m doing my best.”

That way I can take the marker and write whatever best applies to my situation in the blank.

“I’m sorry I look like death warmed over, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry my hair looks atrocious because I keep forgetting to get an appointment to trim it, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry the outline was late because I genuinely believed it was due tomorrow, not last week, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry I haven’t shopped for or put together all the props for the Christmas skit I’m directingbut I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry I haven’t written you a letter back yet, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry I haven’t done that full page illustration yet, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry I haven’t started that 20-page paper because I’m desperately trying to write all these other papers, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry I don’t always have a handle on my emotions, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry I forget to smile sometimes, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry I haven’t finalized my schedule for next semester because I’m just trying to survive this one, but I’m doing my best.”

“I’m sorry my best doesn’t seem to be cutting it right now, but I’m doing my best.”

Maybe I could just wear the shirt, and everyone would understand why the circles under my eyes are getting a little darker every day. And maybe everyone should have that kind of shirt, just so we can all remember that every human on this planet is, in fact, human, and forgets things, and makes mistakes, and doesn’t always have everything together. Maybe we’d all be a little gentler with each other if we could all remember that, for the most part, we’re all just doing our best. Even if our best, sometimes, is not enough.

One response »

  1. I so hear you! This is the second day in less than a week that I am running on 3.5 hours of sleep simply because I’m desperately trying to complete all my homework.
    I’m sorry I can barely stay awake in class, teacher, but you insist on your students having all their homework done on time, so I’m trying my best to fulfill at least one requirement!
    So glad we have a break coming up!

Ramble back at me...

