Getting Serious

Standard

I’m on the hunt.

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to turn my dream of being a traveling, writing gypsy into a reality.

First step: find an occupation that allows me to be mobile.

Pre-first step 1: Find an online writing job.

Pre-first step 2: Turn The Risible Rambler into a money making blog. Somehow.

I’m not really sure how to start doing either of those things. I’ve done Google searches, millenial that I am, and I’ve come up with a few solutions, all of which are overwhelming. I don’t have the hours to read that many self-help ebooks.

But i’m going to keep doing my research. My library job won’t last forever (I’ll only be able to hold it until a few months after I graduate), so if I’m going to get real about this and start trying to support myself with my writing, then I need to start now.

Pointers (and prayers) appreciated.

3 responses »

  1. You can do it!

    My best advice is to look for a position as a content writer at a small- to medium-sized company and negotiate a contract where you can work virtually. Positions are pretty abundant, as inbound marketing is huge right now, and most businesses won’t mind having one less body in-house. It doesn’t pay great to start, but as long as you’re not bogged down with bills, you can definitely make it work!

    Good luck 🙂

  2. Glad to hear it. 🙂 You have a good start with your daily blogging discipline and the following you have here. You might want to start looking to write freelance articles to bulk up your resume. Your internship will help in your search too.

Ramble back at me...

