The Dress

Standard

I’ve had the dress since high school.

We didn’t do prom, but we had a formal dinner for the juniors and seniors every year. The juniors arranged the whole thing for the seniors, but both classes attended. There was always a theme and a corresponding play as well as delicious food. The pressure was on to find a date–and, for the girls, a dress.

I found mine at a department store. It wasn’t the typical teenage prom fare. I believe it was intended as a mother-of-the-bride dress, but I didn’t care. It’s deep brown, a-line, with long brown lace sleeves. It’s gorgeous, and I’ve always felt like a million dollars every time I wear it.

The first time I wore it, I was a junior in high school. One of my guy friends asked me to the event. He’s married now. We’re still friends.

The second time I wore it was to the same event a year later, but with a different guy. Unlike the first fellow, this one fancied me. We were friends–he wanted more. It didn’t work out.

The third time I wore it, I went to a concert on campus with a different boy. He thought loved me, but he didn’t. I figured out he didn’t love me, and we parted ways.

The the last time I wore it, I went with my adventure buddy to a play on campus. We weren’t adventure buddies yet–just friends. But I had never felt more beautiful in that dress than I did right then.

I wore it again tonight. Another concert. Another date. He’s the only one to see the dress twice–even three times. Only now he’s far more than a friend–he’s my fiancé. His ring is on my finger, and it looks fantastic against the deep brown fabric of the dress.

It’s the little things in life that bear such deep significance.

One response »

Ramble back at me...

