Banana Muffins

Standard

There is a lot to be done in the next few months.

I have to write four large papers and give two presentations. I have to read a bajillion pages of class reading.

I have to purchase, address, stamp, and mail 150 save-the-dates and 150 invitations. I need to compile guest lists for bridal showers. I need to register. I need to pick music. I need to make a wedding website (well, not need, but it’s free and convenient for our guests to look in one place for all pertinent information). And I’m sure there are a hundred other things I’m forgetting as well.

So I’m making muffins, incorporating the overripe bananas from the top of the fridge.

Overripe bananas are perfect for muffins because they melt into the batter during the stirring process. An overripe banana contains enough unrefined sugars to justify halving the amount of extra granulated sugar. And banana muffins are the best muffins. Banana muffins are the muffins my mother always made to use up all the overripe bananas that sat on top of the fridge.

Banana muffins taste like the dead of winter and the middle of summer all at once. I’ve yet to master muffins: somehow mine always turn out tough and hard, despite my minimal stirring. Mother made them dense, but fluffy, and always huge, with domed tops.

Mine are still sort of banana-ish hockey pucks. But at least they are chewable.

It’s the stirring process I love the most. Not “stirring” as in “thrilling,” but the literal process of stirring the batter. I suppose you could say that stirring stirs me. It was always my job to stir. Mother was always wise enough to not trust me with the measuring spoons, at least not until I was older, but I remember stirring things in the kitchen when I was very, very small. I love making things blend. I love to watch separate elements combine into a delicious whole.

I wish that things like academic semesters and weddings were as simple as adding ingredients, stirring, and putting them in the oven until they’re done.

One response »

Ramble back at me...

