How We Met

Standard

We’ll both tell different stories. He remembers meeting me in a computer lab when I left my school ID card on his desk so I could check out a robot kit the way one might check out a book. He knew me as the theater girl he had seen in a play his sophomore year. I didn’t know him from Adam’s housecat. That is, until he introduced himself.

That’s his story. I don’t remember this encounter.

What I remember is sitting backstage during a large campus production. I was sitting by myself, surrounded by a crowd of other actors, pretending to do homework. I started humming “Memory,” my favorite showtune. This fellow beside me said, “Hey, I know that song! Isn’t that from Cats? I think we’ve met before…?”

I was dating. He wasn’t. We chalked each other up as “unattainable” and moved on.

Fast forward to the following semester. I was now a junior, and he was a senior. I was no longer dating. He was.

At least, for about a month. He and his girlfriend amicably parted ways. Then I got a phone call.

“Hello?” I said into the receiver. Who calls a dorm phone the day we’re all leaving for Thanksgiving Break, I wondered.

It was him.

“I was wondering if you’d like to go to It’s a Wonderful Life with me.” The show would be playing on campus the week after Thanksgiving. I really wanted to go, but as far as I knew, he was still dating.

“Uh…sure. Sure, that sounds great.”

“Great! What day?”

“The third?”

“December third?”

“Yes, that third.”

“Wonderful. I’ll get the tickets, then. Have a great Thanksgiving!”

Click.

Apparently he isn’t dating anymore, I thought.

The play was fun. So were the Tuesday night coffee dates. So were Thursday lunches. So were the other campus plays we attended. So was the art show. So was dinner at Cracker Barrel. So was our mission trip to Croatia. So were all the little walks we’d take on empty afternoons.

We’ve not stopped doing fun things together since December 3rd, 2012.

4 responses »

Ramble back at me...

