Time in Love

Standard

It’s possible for a week to feel long and short at the same time.

I used to have the ability to make time seem slower. It was a mental game I played with myself. Even through college, while my friends all observed how quickly time was going by, I would quietly remind myself “No, it’s going slowly. look around at all the things that are moving at once in this wide world. Look how slowly the minutes march.Memorize this moment. Feel its little intricacies. Don’t let it slip away.”

And time would slow. High school was a century. College was an age.

Grad school…hit and miss. A moment. A decade.

Being in love makes time crawl and sprint at the same time. Crawling towards the wedding. Yet yesterday it was January. Yesterday I was sitting in a living room in Croatia and he told me he loved me for the first time. Yesterday it was our dinner date at Cracker Barrel in 2013 when he asked if our relationship was going somewhere. Yesterday it was our first date (that I didn’t know was a date) on December 3rd, 2012. Yesterday, it was April 25th of 2012 and I was all alone.

Yet June 27th, 2015…feels like it will never, ever get here.

2 responses »

Ramble back at me...

