Remembering

Standard

I hope I never forget what it was like to step out of black and white into technicolor light.

I hope I don’t forget what it was like to wander about in a London-worthy fog, my eyes dimmed by the perpetual dusk that dyed my waking hours a waking nightmare.

I want to remember being too weary to think the thought of rising from my tear-soaked couch to climb the stairs to my empty room.

I’ll admit to wishing I could forget the words.

But I want to remember the crackling embers of indignation that ignited an inferno in the depths of me hot enough to melt the iron the words had soldered to my soul.

I want to remember the rush of opening my wings wide after years in a cage and spreading them to the rising dawn.

I want to remember the rainbow after the flood, the olive branch my feet found for rest, the dazzle of the light glorifying miles of murky water.

I want to remember the words washing away in the water of your love.

I want to remember and never forget the first rain of color after the long draught of night.

For the valley makes the mountain all the taller for its depths.

Ramble back at me...

