Smells

Standard

When I say I like the smell of lavender, I don’t mean the lavender candles or the body spray you might find at Bath and Body Works.

I mean I love the smell of lavender fields that I smell through the open window of a car as I drive to the airport for the trip home.

When i say i love the smell of baking cookies, I don’t mean an air freshener.

I mean I love the smell of making German spice cookies with my mother the week before Christmas.

When I say I love the smell of pumpkin, I don’t mean the smell of a pumpkin spice latte.

I mean the smell of pumpkin pie right out of the oven.

When I say I love the smell of strawberries, I don’t mean the smell of strawberry chewing gum.

I mean the smell of strawberries I bought from a roadside stand, and they still taste of sunshine.

When I say I love the smell of coffee, I don’t mean Starbucks.

I mean I love the smell of my parents’ coffee, at home, on a summer morning.

Smells are memories. And you can’t put them in a candle or a body spray or a can of Febreeze. Don’t even try.

2 responses »

  1. The Dadster Ripostes:

    God shows His goodness by giving us, mere mortals, the ability of turning senses into memories.

    And He gives us eternity to glorify Him and His Son, the Lord Jesus, for such simple gifts!

    “’Tis a gift to be simple!

    ‘Tis a gift to be free!

    ‘Tis a gift to come down

    Where you ought to be.”

    Deo soli Gloria in aeternum!

    Love,

    The Dadster

Ramble back at me...

