Short Story 10

Standard

He had never explicitly said that he liked me. Sure, he’d sent me chocolate and a Valentine’s package and had asked me to join him for every campus function. But he never said he liked me. We were in an odd limbo between friendship and the potential for more.

I was happy to stay there. As long as he remained silent, our friendship was safe from complication.  The moment he voiced his feelings for me would be the moment the friendship would end.

Besides, I didn’t think he had the courage to say anything. I had known so many of his kind—intelligent and sweet, but too afraid to speak up about how they felt or what their intentions were.

Ramble back at me...

