Short Story 12

Standard

“Sam,” I continued, blathering, “thank you. Thank you for treating me like a human being. Thank you for staying yourself.”

“You’re welcome.” His eyebrows creased inwards and upwards at the bridge of his nose, as they always do when he asks a question. “Lunch tomorrow?”

“Sure.”

“Alright. See you then. Goodnight!”

“Goodnight.”

I wrote it all in my journal so I wouldn’t forget.

And no, I hadn’t recovered yet. My journey had only just started. But at least I knew I wasn’t alone. I had Sam. And I had hope.

“We’re after the same rainbow’s end,

            Waiting ‘round the bend,

            My huckleberry friend,

            Moon River,

            And me.”

Ramble back at me...

