Success

Standard

“Just How Rich Are the Kardashians?”

Apparently that’s a newsworthy headline. I saw it towards the bottom of the homepage of a news website I frequent. Next to the headline was a (photoshopped) image of Kim herself, her hair whipping dramatically around her allegedly flawless face. Thankfully just a headshot this time.

Because of course we are fascinated by successful people. We are fascinated by those who seem to have it all–the beauty, the money, the attention. How did they get where they are? Where are they going? How do they live their lives? What does one do with all of that money?

Because of course money equals success. Right?

I’d argue that if the only thing you’re good at is being pretty, and if that’s all you ever aspire to be–pretty and rich–then you’re missed the “success” mark by a mile.

I’d even argue you’ve missed if all you are is rich.

If “success” can be defined as simply meeting an established goal, then fine. Success acheived. But what else have you acheived?

Attention? That comes in droves. It follows money.

The most successful people I know are the ones who get very little attention and have very little money. But they do so much good. And they have so much love.

I’d rather be that sort of successful person. Any day.

One response »

  1. A hardy (and heartfelt) AMEN from the Dadster.

    Let those who are content in this world define success by the accolades of their fellow creatures.

    As for me and, quite apparently those of my house, we affirm the following:

    “When I can read my title clear to mansions in the sky,

    I’ll bid farewell to every fear and wipe my weeping eyes!”

    With heartfelt gratitude to my brother in Christ, Isaac Watts—whose face I shall one day see!

    To those of you not yet there: “Let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely” (Rev. 22:17).

    And to those of you who scorn such invitations: “It is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment” (Heb. 9:27).

    And for those of you who absolutely despise even the notion of a Holy God who has the right to tell you how to live: “Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron; thou shalt dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel” (Psalm 2:9).

    Deo soli Gloria!

    The Dadster

Ramble back at me...

